‘Bouncing back’ from burnout

Stress vs BurnoutRecently I saw a magazine article entitled ‘Bouncing Back from Burnout’ and I laughed so hard my lunch nearly flew out my left nostril. Why? Because you don’t ‘bounce back’ from a state of exhaustion – you crawl back very slowly, on your hands and knees, pausing only to weep hysterically on the shoulder of a sympathetic friend, family member or passing stoat. In this sorry state you’ve got less ‘bounce’ than Henry VIII attempting the pole vault.

I should know – when I reached the point of no return when it came to my health, I wasn’t just burned out. I was charred to a crisp. I was wired but exhausted, angry, inexplicably driven and hyper, sleepless, and my emaciated reflection resembled something that could have been Voldemort and Gillian McKeith’s love-child. It took a long time for my body to reach such a critical state. A long period of self abuse through poor diet, high stress levels, inadequate rest and far too much adrenaline – and it’s taking a long time to recover too. I’m learning patience, the importance of balance, how to say no, as well as how to relax properly – and I won’t be walking, skipping or bouncing back to my old, toxic lifestyle. Not ever.

I’m currently chugging about eight vitamin supplements a day, and even this concentration of vital nutrients speeding towards my ailing internal organs won’t make palpable changes to my health for a little while. My nutritionist still thinks it will take at least three months of this regime before I start to see any positive transformations whatsoever. I’m in it for the long haul, whether I like it or not.

The same goes for exercise. Currently I can manage about four lengths of my local pool before the lifeguard starts to look nervous that I may drown in less than a metre of chlorinated water. If I can extend this feat to eight lengths before Christmas, I’ll be happy.

The article I read recommended taking a few consecutive days off work to cure this thing we call burnout. ‘You may even need an entire week,’ the writer posited, gravely. Man, if I could heal my wrecked body and mind in just seven days it would be like Christmas, all my birthdays and Chris Hemsworth declaring his undying love for me, all coming together at once in wonderful and wildly unrealistic symmetry.

Slowly slowly, catchy monkey, as our colonial friends used to say. There are no quick fixes for burnout and exhaustion. Now I’m not interested in trapping any monkeys but I am keen to change my life and reclaim my health for the long term – which requires a gentle, focused and sustained approach to change. Subtle changes, but change nonetheless. What I eat, who I spend my time with, how often I relax and what I realistically expect from my life have all seen alterations, on top of which I’ve had to seriously commit to seeing through these habit changes consistently – even when the trudge back to good health feels like a gruelling and thankless task along the road to nowhere.

It took me a very long time to really get to grips with the somewhat lengthy time-scale I was dealing with for my recovery plan – such was the deeply ingrained nature of our society’s ‘now’ culture in my consciousness. Three months isn’t actually all that long to wait for change, but these days everything we need is but a click of the mouse away – and we want it all faster, bigger, cheaper and closer to our lazy, privileged backsides. My health wasn’t going to come back to me at the speed of an Ocado delivery – expectations had to be seriously adjusted.

Our ancestors dealt with death and danger every day as they battled to survive fierce predators, vicious climates and scarce food supplies. These days our fight or flight response is more likely to be triggered by a shortage of organic quinoa than the appearance of a woolly mammoth and yet somehow, as purported cases of ‘burnout’ sky-rocket across the globe, we’re managing to wear ourselves out even more than ever through 24/7 emailing and burning ambition. When an immense tiredness comes along that we can’t instantly dispel with caffeine, we’re flabbergasted – and a five-point-guide to ‘bounce back’ within the week is about as useful as a chocolate teapot.

There’s no bouncing back from burnout. These expectations of bouncing, swerving and speeding our way through life at 100 miles an hour are what make us sick in the first place. When your body tells you it needs a break, it’s time to listen – there’s no magic pill or wonder cure that will have us back on our feet tweeting, internet shopping and making business calls within days.

Instead of feeding us unrealistic quick fixes for our fatigue, the media needs to get real and tell us what we don’t want to hear. That recovering from burnout requires large and sustained lifestyle changes or the only bouncing we’ll be doing will be straight into an early grave.

2 thoughts on “‘Bouncing back’ from burnout

  1. So true! I burned out after more than five years of running a private dog rescue – on call 24-7, dealing daily with people who were venomously angry when I couldn’t make their four-legged “problem” magically disappear, the anguish over each desperate need I couldn’t meet, the sadness over every failure. People would tell me, “But you do so much – you should focus on the successes!” Bleh. “Should” is a word that we could all do well without. When I finally crashed last December and realized I had no choice – I had nothing left to give and I HAD to let it go – I thought I could continue “volunteering” for the new team that mercifully took over the organization. It was impossible. Seven months later, I still get nauseous and struggle to breathe when I’m faced with a dog in need (because people still call me, sometimes). And although I have become an expert at just forwarding the appeal to the new team, I worry worry worry about whether I should have done more, and make myself sick and dizzy with imagining what hell the dog may be living through because of my weak inability to help. I have, by the grace of God, reached a place where I can function and enjoy life … but it will be a while yet before I can even think about trying to rescue anything except me.

    • Sounds like your mind was racing far ahead of your body’s capabilities – a very familiar phenomenon to me, and probably large chunks of society today! Well done for taking a step back from it all, never an easy thing to do. And I hope it’s all upwards from here! Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

